Author Topic: Rigid Industries switch location  (Read 296 times)

Offline Den

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Rigid Industries switch location
« on: July 11, 2017, 08:58:28 am »
I stumped up and bought the 6 incher driving lightbar which I'm planning on installing this weekend. With regards to the switch I want it as close as possible to my left hand for minimal hand movement. I currently have an Oxford heated grip controller on its original bracket hanging downward off the left mirror bolt. I'm thinking of fabricating a bracket identical to the Oxford bracket, but longer so it can house the RI switch. My only concern is the connections at the back will be open to the elements, which I'm sure in time will corrode the terminals.

Where have others placed their switch, if the terminals are in the open how have you safeguarded them from the elements? I thought I might even make a very small waterproof housing....or just be lazy and wrap in in a lot of electrical tape. Feedback (with pics!) appreciated  :)

Offline Fpalbrecht

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 03:10:29 pm »
I'm using this switch with my Rigid industries d2's. Mounted on the left handle bar. http://www.rigidindustries.com/installation-accessories/40052

Offline Den

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2017, 02:14:36 am »
Would you look at that...just the sort of thing I need, looks like a superior version of the PIAA switch. Will mount the provided switch for the time being, and order the one in the link in the meantime. Thanks for that  ::008::

Online Checkswrecks

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 6405
  • Ungenear to broked stuff
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2017, 08:20:23 am »
Lots of options on eBay and Amazon
Damascus, MD
XTZ1200, KTM 690R

Offline Madhatter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 512
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2017, 07:45:47 pm »
I have the rigid D2s one pair spot, one pair broad beam and the switches that are in the harness , this is a bit redneck, I taped with electrical tape to the left mirror stalk base... easy reach with my left thumb, cost pennies to mount... and most people don't even notice how its done... maybe one day ill do a proper switch mount, but I've gotten used to it so probably will not.

Offline Den

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2017, 11:49:09 am »
Hey madhatter, i was close to doing something similar today, until I found this sw motech switch I forgot I had...

http://shop.sw-motech.com/en/4052572021545.htm

Just one question, the RI switch is illuminated so has an extra power lead running to it. Is it the 'red wire to remaining prong(switch power)' that will be left redundant & the other two will go to sw motech switch?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Madhatter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 512
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2017, 06:04:39 pm »
I'm not to sure Den, I would have to see it... most wiring is pretty common sense , hot , ground , a switch just interrupts the connection.... the rigid harness had their switch wired in , and all I had to do was locate a place to place them , then hook up the hot and ground....

Offline AVGeek

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1960
Re: Rigid Industries switch location
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2017, 03:45:48 pm »
Hey madhatter, i was close to doing something similar today, until I found this sw motech switch I forgot I had...

http://shop.sw-motech.com/en/4052572021545.htm

Just one question, the RI switch is illuminated so has an extra power lead running to it. Is it the 'red wire to remaining prong(switch power)' that will be left redundant & the other two will go to sw motech switch?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yes, the extra lead to the Rigid switch will be unused with the SW-Motech switch.  Be sure to cover the exposed terminal, so it doesn't short out anywhere.
IBA# 54462

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
1511 Views
Last post November 02, 2012, 10:10:02 pm
by rem
0 Replies
1095 Views
Last post November 30, 2012, 04:38:08 pm
by Big Blu
2 Replies
976 Views
Last post March 13, 2014, 03:36:42 pm
by Travex
0 Replies
828 Views
Last post May 19, 2014, 02:40:50 am
by XtreemLee
24 Replies
6694 Views
Last post May 03, 2016, 09:09:33 am
by Langolier